Basic paint application/getting to know your brushes

I found all my brushes and had a ‘play’ with them, using acrylics. I then tried a few strokes and techniques on a spare paper.  I need to buy some really large brushes, but the ones I do have work quite well. Some hold the colour more than others and some soak up water and make for a good wash. A chinese style one was good for doing swirl shapes and I thought how I could use this to suggest clouds. As stated you can indeed use the side of the brushes to make a fine line.strokes

I then painted a landscape of my home town of Glastonbury, a view of the tor from the levels. I used a large smooth brush to suggest the sky and fields and the chinese brush for the clouds, harder brushes for the coppiced trees and dabbed in tree and hedge shapes, thinking of patterns rather than details.

tor

So I looked up a ‘filbert’, which I now know is a round headed but flat  brush (I need to get one of these – good for doing leaves etc) I also need colour shapers, which I also had to look up, like brushes but with a silicon tip. Looking ahead to the next exercise I also need a palette knife.

I then fund a nectarine (at least, I think it is, got a touch of peach about it too..) and set it next to a lamp on a wooden surface next to a yellow wall, and i painted it using mostly the larger brushes and trying to be bold. I did the background first – the big brushes were great for suggesting wood grain, I think that worked well. I painted in the fruit shape with a peach colour and then worked with dabbing strokes to fill in the colours. I looked carefully and saw that it was red and dark red, with almost greenish hues too. I added the shadows and the highlights afterwards. I watered the shadows down so the grain showed through as it actually does and I think that worked out ok.

nectarine

The nectarine has a touch of apple about it perhaps….

I need to buy some more brushes and will be off to the local art shop when it reopens on Tuesday 🙂

 

 

Author: Wendy Kate

Happily sharing my life with a tall bearded man from Dorset and a crazy wild animal masquerading as a tabby cat.

Leave a Reply

