Squaring up (or tangled in rectangles…)

This work blog I guess has to be honest, so I will say I am not good at this sort of thing. My mind just closes up when I have to work out sizes and be precise..so I knew I was not going to do well with this. However, I had a go. I got the squares wrong, of course, which I realised after I started drawing, so I painted over it all and then started again. They are more rectangles than squares but I figured if proportionately correct this shouldn’t matter. Got it right this time. Scaled up by times 3 🙂 By the time I had drawn it out for the second time I had overcome my frustration and I was feeling quite pleased with myself….I can now understand the advantages to this method. By the way, I used a poly pocket to draw over the photo so as not to ruin it.  20170722_163144_Richtone(HDR)

My photograph is one of my own from when we lived in Portugal, long time ago, and it is a twisted stone staircase in the Convent of Christ, Tomar.  I thought as it is a complicated thing then the scaling up should make it work. I want to make the painting a little freer, not photographic, and to emphasise the shadows  and show lots of colours in  the sandy stone. 20170722_163138_Richtone(HDR)

I did the painting today in about 3 hours, I think. My initial impression is that it is quite effective and colourful and I think I have captured well the light coming in through the window. I  brightened up the colors outside; the sky was just white on the photo so I made it blue- er. I made the stone richer and warmer. I can unfortunately still see some of the pencil marks on the canvas but they are not that visible really, only that I know they are they.  A2 canvas.

20170723_181958_Richtone(HDR)
Staircase at The Convent of Christ, Tomar,  Portugal.

I thought that this exercise was not something that  would ever chose to do again, but I have now revised my opinion and for something like this which is a complex structure it was quite a good idea!

Retrospective reflection: I am actually pleased with this! I think the blue outside works well as a complement to the warm, sandy tones inside and I can see some roughness to the brushstrokes that work well with to describe the stonework.  I am pleased with the light and dark tones but feel maybe I could have described the building outside a little better, perhaps it could have benefited from being a little less bold.

Author: Wendy Kate

Happily sharing my life with a tall bearded man from Dorset and a crazy wild animal masquerading as a tabby cat.

Leave a Reply

